The CRSS credential is for people who work side-by-side with clinical staff to provide recovery support services to individuals with substance use conditions. CRSS applicants may or may not have lived experience as a person in recovery.

The CRSS designates competency in the domains of Recovery Management; Practical Living Skills and Social Development; Resource Linkage and Followup; Re-engagement, Crisis Support and Safety; and Professional Responsibilities.

CRSS applicants must hold a minimum of a high-school diploma, general equivalency degree or higher.

CRSS Scholarship Program for 2024-2025 is Now Open

The scholarship program, granted through the Florida Department of Children and Families, Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health, is open from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025 for applications, exams, renewals, upgrades, and reinstatements. A new Scholarship Application form is now available that is enabled for typing information directly into. Please read the Instructions for Completing the Scholarship Application Form before beginning to use it.

Instructions for Completing Scholarship Application

CRPS and CRSS Scholarship Application

Please note the scholarship application is not the same as applying for the credential. If your scholarship is approved, you must apply for the credential online through your FCB account.

CRSS Application Documents

Please carefully review all of the credential documents before applying for certification.


Mandatory Forms

Test Preparation

How to Apply

  1. Create an online account.
  2. Create an electronic application for certification (from the online account).
    • Complete all required fields of information.
    • Upload required documents.
    • Pay the certification fee. (unless under scholarship or contractual payment).
  3. Provide mandatory forms to eligible people to complete and submit to FCB on your behalf.
  4. Register for the exam and pay associated fees.
  5. Pass the exam.

Key Information

  1. You can expect to be contacted by your FCB Certification Specialist within 30 days of submitting your online application and fee payment.
  2. The credential is awarded after all requirements have been submitted and approved.