This program allows individuals who hold child welfare certification in one discipline to earn certification in a related discipline without completing the full certification process for new applicants. 

Eligible applicants hold any of the following credentials in good standing:

There is not an electronic application for individuals seeking additional child welfare credentials through the dual certification process. All application materials are hard copy. Please carefully review the Dual Certification Application and Policy Guide before starting the application process.

Dual Certification Process

The upgrade process is facilitated by the applicant’s employer’s single point of contact.

Applicants must complete the following:

  1. Complete the Dual Certification Application and provide it to their single point of contact.
  2. Monitor your email for a notice from the FCB. This notice will ask you to go online and pay the dual certification application fee (unless paid by the employer).

Single Points of Contact must ensure applicant tasks are complete and submit and complete the following for each dual certification:

  1. Dual Certification Application.
  2. Dual Certification On-the-Job Supervision and Competency Verification Form.
  3. Dual Certification Training Verification Form.
  4. Dual Certification Work Verification Form.

When all requirements are met, the FCB will issue the CWPI, CWCM, or CWLC credential. The first expiration date will be the same as the expiration date of the existing credential (the credential that allowed for the individual to complete the dual certification process). When the credential is renewed for the first time, it will be issued for a two year period, always expiring on October 31st of alternate years.